The City of Atlanta and Fulton County Recreation Authority (AFCRA)
The Authority  was created in 1960 and is, in part, authorized to: obtain, construct, equip, maintain, and operate sports and recreation facilities; acquire, lease and sell property; and issue revenue bonds or obligations.

The Authority is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors. Six of its nine members are appointed by the Mayor of the City of Atlanta and three are appointed by the Fulton County Commission. The Authority employs an executive director and staff who are responsible for carrying out its policy. There are two ex-officio members of the Board - one senior official of the City of Atlanta and one senior official of Fulton County.

The Authority is entrusted with maintaining public facilities such as Turner Field, Zoo Atlanta, the Olympic Cauldron, Philips Arena and John A. White Park.
Additionally, The Authority provides funding to the City of Atlanta and Fulton County for specific purchases to update recreational parks under their purview.

The Authority recognizes the magnitude of its responsibilities to ensure that these facilities are responsibly maintained, managed and enjoyed by the public. Decisions affecting these venues are made by The Authority with extensive research, in-depth analysis and thoughtful deliberation.   

Followers (7)

Chad Hatten
Talía Viggers
Renée van Staveren
Tee Parham
City of Atlanta Planning
Lamp avatar
The City of Atlanta and Fulton County Recreation Authority (AFCRA) is just getting started. Sign in or sign up to share your own ideas in Atlanta.